Posted by: traveljunkies | December 21, 2010

Leon’s Christmas Newsletter As He Cycles Through China To Hong Kong

Hey everyone!

To followers old and new, welcome, and thanks for showing an interest in my travels.

I’ve been on the road now for 225 days and have covered roughly 13,000 kilometres
(or 8,500 miles.) The journey has been incredible in so many ways, but it’s not done
yet – not by a long shot! I’m writing this from Bangkok, having arrived here from
Australia just over a week ago.

Rest, relaxation and acclimatization have been the order of the day and I’m now ready
to tackle the roads of South East Asia. I leave tomorrow heading through eastern
Thailand until I reach the border with Cambodia. From there I’ll pass through places
such as Angkor Wat and Phnom Penh, before traveling into Laos. The flexible plan
onwards is north along the Mekong, east to Vietnam, north once more along the coast
and then finally through China towards Hong Kong.

It feels a little like the last leg of the journey, and in some ways it is because I’m at
least on the same landmass as my end goal of Hong Kong. On the other hand there’s
still in the region of 5,000 – 7,000 kilometres between here and there, and
undoubtedly countless new adventures and experiences to be had.

Your supportive emails and comments are always greatly appreciated, and I hope you
are all enjoying following my travels – I certainly love writing about them.

Make sure to check out my recent blogs on my time in NZ and Australia at
www.leonmccarron.com
and you can see all the latest photos at
www.leonmccarron.com/photos.html

Finally, as always, this trip is aiming to raise money for the great work done by
UNICEF and you can donate at
www.justgiving.com/leonmccarron

Until the next newsletter, take care all, and have a very Merry Christmas!
Cheers
Leon

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
traveljunkies – adventure travel & activities directory & search engine.
Like Google only smaller.
www.traveljunkies.com

www.facebook.com/traveljunkies101
www.twitter.com/traveljunkies

Leave a Reply

Categories

